Blue Sky MD prices GLP-1s by the week, not the month: semaglutide from $40 and tirzepatide from $60 a week, given in the office, and only to patients enrolled in its medical weight loss program, whose self-pay cost isn't posted. It's a North Carolina practice founded by Dr. David LaMond in 2008, with seven clinics and statewide telehealth.
One month, no commitment
No 1-month price
No price for one month with no commitment appears on their public pages. Every figure they do publish is below.
Real month to month
None confirmed
No one-month price on their public pages.
They advertise
No rate quoted
Their headline: “Affordable GLP-1 Self-Pay Options from $40/wk”
Our finding
$40 a week, program extra
No plan ladder is published, so there is nothing below to show its working.
Blue Sky MD is a physician-led weight loss and hormone therapy practice founded in 2008 by Dr. David LaMond. It has clinics in Asheville, Hendersonville, Greensboro, Clemmons, Mooresville and two in Charlotte, offers telehealth across North Carolina, bills primary insurance and sells self-pay plans.
The program opens with a panel of 20-plus biomarkers and a measured resting metabolic rate, then adds weekly in-person sessions with a wellness coach, provider checkups, a food-journaling app and, when a provider thinks it fits, GLP-1 medication. Blue Sky won't prescribe weight loss drugs to anyone outside that program.
Its GLP-1 menu covers compounded semaglutide, tirzepatide and brand-name Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound and Mounjaro. No pharmacy is named; one FAQ answer mentions “the medication we compound ourselves.”
Semaglutide is $40 a week and tirzepatide $60 a week, each labeled “in-office.” Further down the same page, a comparison table puts those numbers at “$40/month” and “$60/month,” so Blue Sky's own pages disagree on the unit. None of them explains how often you're charged.
The medication isn't sold alone. An asterisk reads “Must be enrolled in our medical weight loss program to qualify for GLP-1 weight loss medication,” and the program's self-pay price isn't posted; the FAQ says out-of-pocket costs vary and invites you to text for details.
With insurance, the program and some medications may be covered, and Blue Sky checks your carrier before the first visit. HSA and FSA funds are accepted.
Who it's wrong for
Comparing monthly prices? Blue Sky quotes $40 and $60 per week, then prints those numbers per month in its comparison table.
Just after a GLP-1 script? Blue Sky writes one only for enrolled program patients.
Living outside North Carolina? Its clinics and telehealth serve that state only.
Not for you if weekly in-person coaching sessions won't fit your schedule; they're part of the program.
The American checks
Prescriber licensed in your state
Not stated
Pharmacy named
Not named
What you get
Compounded semaglutide (sold on a page carrying the FDA compounding disclaimer), tirzepatide, and brand Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound and Mounjaro. No pharmacy or 503A/503B status is named.
Overseas fulfillment
Not stated
Support hours
Clinic hours Monday to Thursday 7:30am to 4:30pm and Friday 7:30am to 1:00pm. Phone (828) 651-0450 and a text line.
What each check means, and what “Not stated” covers, is on how we review.
Questions people ask about Blue Sky MD
How much does Blue Sky MD cost a month?Blue Sky MD advertises “Affordable GLP-1 Self-Pay Options from $40/wk” without tying it to a plan length, and publishes no one-month price, so there's no month-to-month figure to quote.
Does Blue Sky MD charge a membership fee?Yes, with no published price. GLP-1 medication is prescribed only to patients enrolled in the Blue Sky MD medical weight loss program, and the program's self-pay price isn't published; the FAQ says out-of-pocket costs vary with insurance and goals.
Does Blue Sky MD sell compounded or brand-name GLP-1s?Compounded semaglutide (sold on a page carrying the FDA compounding disclaimer), tirzepatide, and brand Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound and Mounjaro. No pharmacy or 503A/503B status is named.
Has Blue Sky MD received an FDA warning letter?No. FDA's published warning-letter index holds no letter to Blue Sky MD on a search of “Blue Sky MD”, “blueskymd”, “BlueSkyMD”, “David LaMond”, and the search is linked under Sources.
Does GLP America earn money from Blue Sky MD?No, it pays us nothing.
On the record5 sourcing notes: every price with the page it came from, and what the company doesn't publish
Sources: Blue Sky MD's public site: Blue Sky MD's home page, Blue Sky MD's GLP-1 prescription weight loss page, Blue Sky MD's compounded semaglutide GLP-1 weight loss medication page, Blue Sky MD's medical weight loss page, Blue Sky MD's weight loss doctors page, Blue Sky MD's weight loss help page, Blue Sky MD's online weight loss page, Blue Sky MD's blue sky md page, Blue Sky MD's contact page, Blue Sky MD's locations page, Blue Sky MD's for patients page and the clinic, hormone and lab-testing pages. The health assessment (“GET STARTED”), the consultation request form, new-patient forms and chat were not opened. FAQ answers were collapsed and are read from the headed page's DOM text.
The prices, from /glp-1-prescription-weight-loss/ and /compounded-semaglutide-glp-1-weight-loss-medication/: “Affordable GLP-1 Self-Pay Options from $40/wk”, “Qualified Blue Sky MD patients access these game-changing treatments for as low as $40/week. *”, “Tirzepatide - $60/week in-office” and “Semaglutide - $40/week in-office”, with “* Must be enrolled in our medical weight loss program to qualify for GLP-1 weight loss medication”. Comparison table: “In-office injections at Blue Sky MD starting as low as $60/month” (tirzepatide) and “In-office injections at Blue Sky MD starting as low as $40/month” (semaglutide). /medical-weight-loss/ says “Because we are able to bill insurance, out-of-pocket costs for our weight loss program vary. We do offer affordable self-pay options as well, but pricing may vary depending on a patient’s goals.”
Program rules, FAQ: “No, we do no prescribe weight loss medication to patients not in our medical weight loss program.” and “GLP-1 agonists, including the medication we compound ourselves, have shown promising results”. The program “includes weekly in-person meetings with a Wellness Coach, checkups with a medical provider, full access to our mobile app, and prescription weight loss medication prescribed by our doctors (if deemed appropriate).” The compounded semaglutide page carries “Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved.”
No FDA enforcement action on record: FDA's warning-letter search on “Blue Sky MD”, “blueskymd”, “BlueSkyMD”, “David LaMond”, returns no letter addressed to Blue Sky MD, its operator, the named pharmacies or Blue Sky MD. Search FDA's warning letters.