Walgreens Weight Management charges $49 per telehealth visit, with no subscription, and prescribes brand GLP-1s at manufacturer self-pay prices: the Wegovy pill and Foundayo from $149 a month, Wegovy injections at $199 for two fills and then $349, and Zepbound from $299.
$149 buys one month of oral semaglutide, no commitment
No membership fee on top
Also sells FDA-approved brand semaglutide, tirzepatide and orforglipron, from $149/mo
Names the pharmacy that fills its prescriptions: Walgreens
Against it
A $49 consultation fee
FDA warning letter 662158, September 2023
What it is
Walgreens Weight Management is the drugstore chain's telehealth program for weight-loss prescriptions. You answer a short questionnaire, start an on-demand video visit with a doctor or nurse practitioner, and afterward most follow-ups happen by chat. If you're prescribed, you pick the medication up at a Walgreens or whatever pharmacy you choose.
The clinicians work for independent, physician-owned practices such as Walgreens Health Medical Group, P.A., which license the Walgreens name and buy management services from Walgreens Health Services LLC. Walgreen Co. owns the site.
It's open in 28 states, including California, Florida, New York and Texas, and it's strictly self-pay: the program doesn't bill insurance or run GLP-1 prior authorizations, and it can't see Medicare patients yet. Walgreens pharmacies separately fill Medicare GLP-1 Bridge prescriptions at $50 a month for eligible beneficiaries.
The care costs $49 a visit, with no subscription. That covers the first video visit, and every follow-up chat or extra video visit is another $49. Most patients check in monthly early on, so the first few months carry $49 each on top of the medication.
The drug is paid at the pharmacy, at manufacturer self-pay prices. The Wegovy pill starts at $149 a month at 1.5 mg and rises to $199, then $299. Wegovy injections are $199 for each of the first two fills, then $349. Zepbound runs from $299 at 2.5 mg to $699 at the top doses, with a Lilly offer holding 7.5 mg and up at $449. Foundayo starts at $149 and tops out at $349.
Those prices belong to Novo Nordisk and Lilly, which can change or end them at any time, and several carry a December 31, 2026 date. Lab work, when ordered, is a separate fee through Labcorp or Quest.
Saxenda, the daily liraglutide injection, is on the list too, though no price is printed for it.
Who it's wrong for
On Medicare? The telehealth program won't see you yet, even though Walgreens pharmacies fill Bridge program prescriptions.
If your state isn't among the 28 listed, there's no visit to book. Oregon, Utah and Nebraska are among those left out.
Hoping insurance will cover Zepbound? Walgreens' program is cash only for now and leaves prior authorizations to you.
Shopping for compounded semaglutide? Walgreens prescribes brand-name drugs only.
Early check-ins add up: at $49 a visit, the first months cost more than the drug price alone suggests.
The American checks
Prescriber licensed in your state
Not stated
Pharmacy named
Walgreens, at a local store, or a pharmacy of your choice. Prescriptions are picked up, not shipped by the program.
What you get
FDA-approved brand-name drugs only: Wegovy pens and pills, Zepbound KwikPens and vials, Foundayo pills and Saxenda. No compounded GLP-1 is offered.
Overseas fulfillment
None disclosed
Support hours
On-demand provider video visits “7 days a week (7 a.m. to 11 p.m. CST)”. The weight-management pages give no separate support phone or email.
What each check means, and what “Not stated” covers, is on how we review.
Questions people ask about Walgreens Weight Management
How much does Walgreens Weight Management cost a month?Month to month, oral semaglutide is $149 a month, brand orforglipron $149 and brand semaglutide $199, with one more on the price table. Add a $49 consultation fee.
Does Walgreens Weight Management charge a membership fee?No. Walgreens Weight Management bills oral semaglutide at $149 a month with nothing added for a membership; the one fee on top is a $49 consultation.
Does Walgreens Weight Management sell compounded or brand-name GLP-1s?FDA-approved brand-name drugs only: Wegovy pens and pills, Zepbound KwikPens and vials, Foundayo pills and Saxenda. No compounded GLP-1 is offered.
Which pharmacy fills Walgreens Weight Management prescriptions?Walgreens, at a local store, or a pharmacy of your choice. Prescriptions are picked up, not shipped by the program.
Is there a consultation fee at Walgreens Weight Management?Yes, $49. From the weight-loss FAQ: “Initial video visits start at $49, follow-up chat visits and additional video visits (if needed) are $49 each. Note: Medication cost not included.” The page header: “$49 per visit, no subscription needed.” Most patients check in monthly at first, then about every 3 to 6 months.
Has Walgreens Weight Management received an FDA warning letter?Yes: letter 662158, September 2023, filed as “Failure to Register and List”; letter 663404, the same month, filed as “Unapproved New Drugs/Misbranded”, linked under Sources below with the claims it quotes in the sourcing notes.
Does GLP America earn money from Walgreens Weight Management?No. Walgreens Weight Management pays us nothing, and its $149 month sits where that price puts it.
On the record10 sourcing notes: every price with the page it came from, and what the company doesn't publish
Sources: Walgreens' public weight-management pages: Walgreens Weight Management's weight loss.jsp page, Walgreens Weight Management's Wegovy.jsp page, Walgreens Weight Management's Zepbound.jsp page, Walgreens Weight Management's Ozempic.jsp page, Walgreens Weight Management's Foundayo.jsp page, Walgreens Weight Management's virtual healthcare.jsp page and the Terms of Use at Walgreens Weight Management's termsofuse.jsp page. FAQ accordions were opened. The visit flow at Walgreens Weight Management's home page (“Start Your Online Visit”) and the account login were not opened. Only brand GLP-1s were considered, per scope.
The prices, from the disclaimers on the weight-loss page. Wegovy pill: “Novo Nordisk is offering Wegovy oral medication to eligible self-pay patients for $149 per month for the 1.5 mg dose, $199 per month for the 4 mg dose, and $299 per month for the 9 mg and 25 mg doses.” Wegovy injection: “Through December 31, 2026, Novo Nordisk is offering eligible self-pay patients new to Wegovy injectables an introductory price of $199 per fill for the first two fills of medication (0.25 mg and 0.5 mg doses only).” and “After the first two fills, the cost of Wegovy will be $349 per month for subsequent fills of medication.” Zepbound: “Regular price for 1-month supplies of the Zepbound KwikPen (or vial) is $299 for 2.5 mg, $399 for 5 mg, $499 for 7.5 mg, $699 for 10 mg, $699 for 12.5 mg, and $699 for 15 mg.” Foundayo: “Regular price for a 1-month supply of Foundayo is $149 for 0.8 mg, $199 for 2.5 mg, $299 for 5.5 mg and 9 mg, and $349 for 14.5 mg and 17.2 mg.”
Offers and conditions: the Zepbound offer gives “a 1-month supply of Zepbound 7.5 mg, 10 mg, 12.5 mg, and 15 mg dose KwikPens (or vials) for $449 each” through December 31, 2026, if refills come “within 45 days”. The Foundayo purchase offer gives $299 on “the 14.5 mg or 17.2 mg Foundayo dosages” under the same 45-day rule. “Lilly reserves the right to modify or cancel this savings program at any time.” The Ozempic page still prints an older pill offer: “Through August 31, 2026, Novo Nordisk is offering Wegovy oral medication to eligible self-pay patients for $149 per month for the 1.5 mg and 4 mg doses.”
Visit fees, from the FAQ: “Walgreens Weight Management is designed to be a more affordable, flexible option – no subscription required. Initial video visits start at $49, follow-up chat visits and additional video visits (if needed) are $49 each. Note: Medication cost not included.” Header: “$49 per visit, no subscription needed. Select FDA-approved GLP-1s start at $149/month with a manufacturer's savings card.” Check-ins: “Initially, most patients check in monthly so their provider can adjust their medication dosage for the best results. Once weight loss stabilizes, check-ins typically become less frequent – about every 3 to 6 months”. Labs: “Lab service will be a separate fee, price may vary.”
Insurance and Medicare: “Walgreens Weight Management is currently intended for patients self-paying for weight loss medications. We don’t currently handle insurance or prior authorizations for GLP-1 medications, but please check back soon.” “Walgreens Weight Management’s telehealth service does not currently support Medicare patients”. The Medicare GLP-1 Bridge program ($50/month) is a CMS program filled by Walgreens Pharmacy, separate from the telehealth service.
Fulfillment: providers “prescribe a weight loss medication that you can pick up at your local Walgreens or a pharmacy of your choice.” Drugs listed: “semaglutide (Wegovy® – oral pills & injectable pens), tirzepatide (Zepbound® – injectable KwikPens & vials), orforglipron (Foundayo™ pills), and liraglutide (Saxenda®)”. The Ozempic page says “Ozempic is not approved by the FDA specifically for weight loss.”
States, from the disclaimer: “*Currently available in the following states: AZ, CA, CO, CT, FL, GA, IL, IN, KS, KY, MA, MD, MI, MN, MO, NC, NJ, NV, NY, OH, OK, PA, SC, TN, TX, VA, WA, WI. Chat or video visit, varies by state.” On-demand visits: “7 days a week (7 a.m. to 11 p.m. CST)”.
FDA warning letter 663404, issued September 11, 2023, category “Unapproved New Drugs/Misbranded”. It is addressed to “Walgreens Boots Alliance, Inc.”, 108 Wilmot Rd., Deerfield, IL 60015, and concerns three store-brand eye drops offered on the Walgreens website (“Walgreens Allergy Eye Drops,” “Walgreens Stye Eye Drops,” and “Walgreens Pink Eye Drops”), which FDA calls unapproved new drugs. It concerns no GLP-1 medication and not the weight-management program. A warning letter discloses; it does not disqualify.
FDA warning letter 662158, issued September 12, 2023, category “Failure to Register and List”. It is addressed to “Walgreen Company”, 108 Wilmot Road, Deerfield, IL 60015, and concerns the FDA drug listing for one store-brand toothpaste, Walgreens Sensitive Extra Whitening (NDC 0363-1588). FDA posted a close-out letter on December 19, 2025, saying the listing had been updated. It concerns no GLP-1 medication. A warning letter discloses; it does not disqualify.
The companies whose month of oral semaglutide is closest in price to Walgreens Weight Management's, membership included. Picked by price alone; whether a company pays us plays no part.