Online, Rivas Medical Weight Loss charges $399 a month for compounded semaglutide and $599 for compounded tirzepatide, after a $195 first month that bundles the initial visit with the first month's medication. Telehealth covers only Maryland, Virginia and Florida; in its 15 clinics the same drugs run $115 and $165 a week.
One month, no commitment
$399/mo, month to month
They advertise
No rate quoted
Their headline: “SEMAGLUTIDE $115/week for any dose”
$399 buys one month of compounded semaglutide, no commitment
No membership fee on top
Clean FDA warning-letter record
Against it
No pharmacy named
No support hours published
What it is
Rivas Medical Weight Loss is a Maryland chain of 15 weight-loss clinics, 14 in Maryland and one in Fairfax, Virginia, led by CEO and medical director Paul Rivas, MD, and dating to 1992 by its own count. Its core program is a weekly in-person visit: vitals, a weigh-in, a dose check and the injection, with compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide dispensed on site. Phentermine, B12 shots and a line of aesthetic devices sit alongside.
The telehealth arm is newer and narrower. Residents of Maryland, Virginia and Florida book a live video visit, a Rivas physician assistant or nurse practitioner decides on the spot, and compounded medication ships to the door, with a monthly video check-in after that. Patients near a clinic can switch between the two without starting over.
The same providers write prescriptions for Wegovy and Zepbound, but Rivas doesn't sell either one. You pay Rivas for the visits and buy the pens yourself from NovoCare, LillyDirect or a pharmacy. It takes no insurance; HSA and FSA cards, Cherry and CareCredit are accepted.
By video, the first month is $195, covering the initial visit and a month of compounded medication. After that it's $399 a month for semaglutide or $599 for tirzepatide, each including the monthly visit and shipping. There's no contract, and the site says you can cancel anytime.
In the clinics, a new patient pays $195 once for an initial visit the pricing page calls a lifetime membership, kept active by one visit a year. Treatment is then $115 per weekly visit for semaglutide or $165 for tirzepatide, pay as you go. Packages trim that by 5% for four weeks ($437 or $627) and 10% for twelve ($1,242 or $1,782).
The brand-name track costs $195 to start and $100 for each monthly follow-up, with the drug itself bought separately. Rivas's own tirzepatide page quotes LillyDirect at $299 to $449 a month, a figure Rivas relays rather than sets.
No written refund or cancellation policy sits among the legal pages; the pricing and telehealth pages only say “No contract” and “cancel anytime”. The site's FAQ still says Rivas doesn't use brand-name medications, which its newer Wegovy and Zepbound pages contradict.
Who it's wrong for
Outside Maryland, Virginia or Florida? Rivas can't treat you by video at all, and its clinics are all in Maryland and northern Virginia.
Shopping on price? Semaglutide by video is $399 a month after the first, and four pay-as-you-go clinic visits at $115 come to $460.
Which compounder fills a Rivas order? The site won't say beyond “licensed 503A and FDA-registered 503B”, so ask before you book if that matters.
Not for you if you hate weekly appointments and live near a clinic: the in-person program is built around a visit every week.
Looking for a written refund policy before you pay $195? None is posted on the public site.
The American checks
Prescriber licensed in your state
Not stated
Pharmacy named
Not named
What you get
Compounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide, which the About page says come from “licensed 503A and FDA-registered 503B outsourcing facilities”; in-office doses are dispensed on site. Wegovy and Zepbound are prescribed only, with the medication bought separately through NovoCare, LillyDirect or a local pharmacy.
Overseas fulfillment
None disclosed
Support hours
No central hours are published; clinic appointments run from as early as 7am to as late as 7pm. Each of the 15 clinics lists its own phone number, and the site says calls after hours get a call back.
What each check means, and what “Not stated” covers, is on how we review.
Questions people ask about Rivas Medical Weight Loss
How much does Rivas Medical Weight Loss cost a month?Month to month, compounded semaglutide is $399 a month and compounded tirzepatide $599.
Does Rivas Medical Weight Loss charge a membership fee?No. Rivas Medical Weight Loss bills compounded semaglutide at $399 a month with nothing added for a membership.
Does Rivas Medical Weight Loss sell compounded or brand-name GLP-1s?Compounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide, which the About page says come from “licensed 503A and FDA-registered 503B outsourcing facilities”; in-office doses are dispensed on site. Wegovy and Zepbound are prescribed only, with the medication bought separately through NovoCare, LillyDirect or a local pharmacy. It names no pharmacy.
Has Rivas Medical Weight Loss received an FDA warning letter?No. FDA's published warning-letter index holds no letter to Rivas Medical Weight Loss on a search of “Rivas Medical Weight Loss”, “rivasweightloss”, “Rivas Medical”, “Rivas Weight Loss”, “Paul Rivas”, and the search is linked under Sources.
Does GLP America earn money from Rivas Medical Weight Loss?No. Rivas Medical Weight Loss pays us nothing, and its $399 month sits where that price puts it. The Collective card on this page comes from a partner, which pays us a commission, and it's labeled Partner.
On the record8 sourcing notes: every price with the page it came from, and what the company doesn't publish
Sources: Rivas Medical Weight Loss's public site: Rivas Medical Weight Loss' home page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' pricing page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' telehealth page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' medical weight loss page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' semaglutide page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' compounded page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' Wegovy page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' tirzepatide page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' compounded page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' Zepbound page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' Wegovy vs Zepbound page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' GLP-1 microdosing page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' financing page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' FAQ page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' about us page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' contact us page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' GLP-1 without insurance page, Rivas Medical Weight Loss' terms of service page and Rivas Medical Weight Loss' privacy policy page, plus the phentermine, B12 and aesthetic-device pages. The online booking system and new-patient form were not opened.
The prices. Telehealth page cards: “SEMAGLUTIDE Most common starting option Compounded Program $399 / month Medication + provider visit included” and “TIRZEPATIDE Compounded Program $599 / month Medication + provider visit included”; telehealth FAQ: “Every program starts with a $195 initial visit that includes your provider evaluation and first month of medication (for compounded programs). After month one, ongoing rates are: $399/month for compounded semaglutide (medication + visit included), $599/month for compounded tirzepatide (medication + visit included), or $100/month for a name-brand prescription program (Wegovy or Zepbound — provider visit included, medication filled separately at pharmacy).” Pricing page (in-office): “Initial Visit = Lifetime Membership ... Visit once a year, and you never pay it again. $195 One-time · Lifetime Membership”; semaglutide “Weekly Visit Pay as you go $115 / week”, “1-Month Package 5% OFF 4 weeks of treatment $437 / 4 weeks $109.25 per week”, “3-Month Package 10% OFF 12 weeks of treatment $1,242 / 12 weeks $103.50 per week”; tirzepatide “$165 / week”, “1-Month Package 5% OFF 4 weeks of treatment $627 / 4 weeks $156.75 per week”, “3-Month Package 10% OFF 12 weeks of treatment $1,782 / 12 weeks $148.50 per week”; Wegovy and Zepbound “Follow-Up Visit Ongoing monthly visits $100 Includes 1-month prescription Medication cost paid separately at your pharmacy.” Home page tile: “SEMAGLUTIDE $115/week for any dose All-inclusive price-visit & medication”. Compounded tirzepatide page: “A $195 initial visit fee applies for new patients.” The four-week packages are filed as one-month rungs (four-week billing); the 12-week packages are left off the ladder because Rivas prints only a per-week figure for them.
Relayed brand prices, not Rivas's own: the tirzepatide page prints “Medication purchased separately at pharmacy Lilly Direct: $299–$449/month”, and the Wegovy-vs-Zepbound page describes NovoCare self-pay pricing. No brand block is written because Rivas does not sell the medication.
Terms of sale: the pricing page footnote reads “All in-office programs include medication, provider visit, vitals, and weigh-in. No contracts, cancel anytime. Cherry and CareCredit financing available for packages. HSA/FSA accepted for all options. Wegovy and Zepbound visit fees do not include medication; medication pricing is subject to change and determined at the pharmacy.” The telehealth FAQ: “We do not process insurance. HSA and FSA are accepted for telehealth services. No contract is required, and you can cancel at any time.” The terms of service cover website use only; no refund policy is posted.
Who does what. Telehealth FAQ: “The program is available to residents of Maryland, Virginia, and Florida.” and “When you see a Rivas provider by video, you’re getting the same licensed PA or NP who sees in-office patients every day.” The site never says its providers hold a license in each patient's state. About page: “Paul Rivas, MD – CEO & Medical Director”; “With 15 clinics and 15,000+ in-person visits monthly, we’re the largest medical weight loss provider in the state.”; “Semaglutide and Tirzepatide sourced from licensed 503A and FDA-registered 503B outsourcing facilities.” The older FAQ says “We do not use brand name medications, including semaglutide products such as Ozempic, Wegovy, or Tirzepatide products like Mounjaro.We obtain our all compounded GLP-1s from Federally licensed 503B pharmacies.” The footer: “Rivas is a medical practice, not a pharmacy.” and “LegitScript Certified (#16717358).”
Shipping, from the telehealth FAQ: “For compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide, your kit typically arrives within 1–2 days of your prescription being processed — shipped from a licensed compounding pharmacy with everything you need to self-administer.”
No FDA enforcement action on record: FDA's warning-letter search on “Rivas Medical Weight Loss”, “rivasweightloss”, “Rivas Medical”, “Rivas Weight Loss”, “Paul Rivas”, returns no letter addressed to Rivas Medical Weight Loss, its operator, the named pharmacies or Rivas Medical Weight Loss. Search FDA's warning letters.
Sources
Rivas Medical Weight Loss' own pages
Rivas Medical Weight Loss' telehealth pageCompounded semaglutide price
Rivas Medical Weight Loss' pricing pageCompounded semaglutide price
The companies whose month of compounded semaglutide is closest in price to Rivas Medical Weight Loss', membership included. Picked by price alone; whether a company pays us plays no part.