Compounded semaglutide is $79.99, $116, $149.99, $150 and "$149.99-$249.99 per month" depending which Maximus page you are on, and the one figure carrying a unit says 28-day supply rather than month.
$116 buys one month of compounded semaglutide, no commitment
No membership fee on top
Also sells FDA-approved brand semaglutide, tirzepatide and orforglipron, from $199.99/mo
Against it
FDA warning letter 730095, June 2026
No pharmacy named
No support hours published
What it is
Maximus started as a men's hormone-optimization brand, and the weight-loss line sits beside testosterone protocols and an oxytocin cream. It sells compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide, and the brand drugs too, Foundayo tablets included.
On supply and fees it says the right things: base form rather than salt form, US compounding pharmacies, no membership. It doesn't agree with itself about the price.
There are five numbers, and you get a different one depending on where you land. The home page picker offers "GLP-1 Starting at $149.99" and "GLP-1 + GIP Starting at $249.99". The weight-loss category page prices the same two products at "Starting at $116 /28-day supply" and "Starting at $198 /28-day supply". The semaglutide product page opens with "Available now starting at $79.99 /month" and then, in a bullet list a screen below it headed "The better way to lose weight", offers "Starting at $150 per month". And the comparison table on the weight-loss page describes compounded medication as "Cost: $149.99-$249.99 per month, out of pocket". That range contains neither $116 nor $79.99, both of which Maximus publishes for the same thing.
Only one of the five carries a unit, and the unit isn't a month. A 28-day supply is four weeks, and thirteen of them fill a 364-day year. So $116 a supply is $1,508 a year, not the $1,392 that twelve payments implies, and the fair comparison figure against a company that bills monthly is nearer $126. Tirzepatide at $198 a supply comes to $2,574 a year.
Brand prices are quoted differently again, per month rather than per supply, and they're the only figures on the site with a real unit: Foundayo tablets $199.99, Wegovy tablets $249.99, Ozempic and Wegovy pens $349.99, Zepbound $449.99, Mounjaro $1,249.99. A running promotion hints at what the low compounded numbers are for: "$100 OFF first month of medication for new clients purchasing 12-month plan."
The $116 is the entry number here because it's the only compounded figure Maximus attaches a unit to, and nothing on the site states a minimum term. Which of the five shows up at checkout is still an open question.
Who it's wrong for
Need to know the price before starting? Maximus publishes five for compounded semaglutide, and they don't reconcile.
Line $116 up against a monthly price and you'll undercount. It buys 28 days, and a year needs thirteen of them.
Don't lean on the comparison table. Its own stated range, $149.99 to $249.99 a month, excludes the two cheapest prices on the same site.
Spotted the $100 off? It's conditional on a twelve-month plan, in Maximus's own words.
The American checks
Prescriber licensed in your state
Not stated
Pharmacy named
Not named
What you get
Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide "Compounded in US-based pharmacies" and "Prepared by licensed US compounding pharmacies", plus brand Ozempic, Mounjaro, Wegovy, Zepbound and Foundayo™
Overseas fulfillment
None disclosed
Support hours
Not published
What each check means, and what “Not stated” covers, is on how we review.
Questions people ask about Maximus
How much does Maximus cost a month?Month to month, compounded semaglutide is $116 a month, compounded tirzepatide $198 and brand orforglipron $199.99, with two more on the price table.
Does Maximus charge a membership fee?No. Maximus bills compounded semaglutide at $116 a month with nothing added for a membership.
Does Maximus sell compounded or brand-name GLP-1s?Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide "Compounded in US-based pharmacies" and "Prepared by licensed US compounding pharmacies", plus brand Ozempic, Mounjaro, Wegovy, Zepbound and Foundayo™. It names no pharmacy.
Has Maximus received an FDA warning letter?Yes: letter 730095, June 2026, filed as “False & Misleading Claims/Misbranded (Telehealth)”, linked under Sources below with the claims it quotes in the sourcing notes.
Does GLP America earn money from Maximus?No. Maximus pays us nothing, and its $116 month sits where that price puts it. The Collective card on this page comes from a partner, which pays us a commission, and it's labeled Partner.
On the record9 sourcing notes: every price with the page it came from, and what the company doesn't publish
FDA warning letter 730095, issued June 8, 2026, category “False & Misleading Claims/Misbranded (Telehealth)”. Addressed to “Maximus Health, Inc. dba Maximus, 2219 Main Street, #347, Santa Monica, CA 90405”, recipient email Maximus' support email, and FDA says it conducted “a review of Maximus' website, Maximus' home page … in May 2026”, the same domain reviewed here. It quotes four claims: “Clinically studied ingredients.”, “Clinically studied to help patients….”, “Proven to lose weight effectively”, and a sourcing claim that the compounded products come from “FDA approved pharmacies.”, which FDA answers by stating that no such designation exists. Its summary of the objection: “Your claims represent that the compounded drug products you offer have been FDA-approved or otherwise evaluated for safety and effectiveness when they have not.” No action that halted the business is stated. A warning letter discloses; it does not disqualify.
Home page Maximus' home page: "Compounded Weight Loss Custom-formulated Tirzepatide, Semaglutide GLP-1 + GIP Starting at $249.99 → GLP-1 Starting at $149.99 → Brand-name Weight Loss FDA-approved name brand Ozempic, Mounjaro, Wegovy, Foundayo, Zepbound Starting at $199.99".
Category page Maximus' weight loss page: "Starting at $198 /28-day supply" on the compounded GLP-1 + GIP card and "Starting at $116 /28-day supply" on the compounded GLP-1 semaglutide card. Brand cards on the same page: "Foundayo™ Tablets ... Starting at $199.99 /mo", "Wegovy® Tablets ... Starting at $249.99 /mo", "Zepbound® ... Starting at $449.99 /mo", "Wegovy® Pens ... Starting at $349.99 /mo", "Ozempic® ... Starting at $349.99 /mo", "Mounjaro® ... Starting at $1,249.99 /mo".
Product page Maximus' semaglutide page carries two prices in one screen. The hero: "Available now starting at $79.99 /month", repeated in the sticky bar as "Weight Loss Protocol — Semaglutide Starting at — $79.99", and echoed in the page's own Product schema as "price": "79.99". A bullet list immediately below, headed "The better way to lose weight": "No membership fees, transparent pricing / Unlimited messaging with your doctor / No in-person visit or insurance required / Starting at $150 per month".
The comparison table on Maximus' weight loss page, verbatim: "Compounded Custom-formulated Tirzepatide, Semaglutide Regulation: Prepared by licensed US compounding pharmacies. Cost: $149.99-$249.99 per month, out of pocket. No insurance required." and "Brand-name ... Cost: From $499 per month." The brand row's floor, $499, is higher than five of the six brand prices the same page advertises.
The promotion, from the site header: "$100 OFF first month of medication for new clients purchasing 12-month plan".
The annual arithmetic. Maximus publishes $116 per 28-day supply. Thirteen supplies is 364 days, so a year is 13 × $116 = $1,508. Twelve payments of $116 would be $1,392. That's Maximus's own published figure multiplied; no total of theirs has been divided.
Five published figures with no stated term means the number a reader is actually charged can't be settled from the public pages, and it isn't guessed here. Which figure appears at the plan screen, and on what term, is still to be recorded.
None of the home page, the weight-loss page or the semaglutide product page states that the prescriber is licensed in the patient's own state, names a pharmacy, or publishes support hours. Those three rows read Not stated. The overseas row reads None disclosed because Maximus addresses it directly: "Compounded in US-based pharmacies" and "Prepared by licensed US compounding pharmacies". Maximus also states, on the weight-loss page: "Maximus uses only the base form of Semaglutide and Tirzepatide. Some pharmacies use salt forms (e.g., 'Semaglutide Sodium' or 'Semaglutide Acetate'), which are different chemicals, are not equivalent, and have not been tested for safety."
Sources
Maximus' own pages
Maximus' weight loss pageCompounded semaglutide price
Is an FDA warning letter a reason to avoid a company?46 of the companies reviewed here carry one. What each letter actually alleges, in FDA's own words, why they arrive in batches, and why none of them is a verdict.
Can one company advertise two prices for one drug?The companies whose own pages carry two figures for one product on one day, including one whose headline changes depending on the link you arrived on.
Who actually fills your GLP-1 prescription?What these companies disclose: the pharmacy, its category, whether the prescriber is licensed in your state, and whether anybody publishes hours you could hold them to.
Why a three-month plan often isn't three monthsFour-week supplies, 28-day refills, 11-week renewals and 12-week cycles, all sold as months, and what each one costs across a 52-week year on the company's own figures.
The companies whose month of compounded semaglutide is closest in price to Maximus', membership included. Picked by price alone; whether a company pays us plays no part.