Brand-name GLP-1s only: the Wegovy pill from $149 a month, the Wegovy pen from $199 and Zepbound from $299, each billed on top of a required Hims membership that's $39 the first month and $149 after.
$298 buys one month of oral semaglutide, no commitment, membership included
Also sells FDA-approved brand semaglutide, tirzepatide and orforglipron, from $149/mo
Names 3 pharmacies, including Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC and CD Pharmacy LLC
Prescribers licensed in your state
Against it
The $149 medication needs a $149/mo membership on top
FDA warning letter 716567, September 2025
No support hours published
What it is
Hims is the men's brand of Hims & Hers Health, Inc., the San Francisco telehealth company. Its weight-loss program now runs entirely on brand-name drugs: the Wegovy pill and pen, the Ozempic pill and pen, Zepbound in a vial or KwikPen, Mounjaro, and Eli Lilly's new Foundayo pill. The compounded semaglutide Hims used to sell is gone from the public pages; the program's landing page pitches “Name brand medication, no price markups.”
Hims itself isn't the prescriber. The terms route care through a set of affiliated practices (You Health of California, of Texas, of New Jersey and others) whose clinicians evaluate the intake, and they name six pharmacies that ship the medication. The about page promises “a licensed medical provider in your state”, and depending on where you live, a video visit may or may not be required.
Everything runs through a membership. It covers the first evaluation, a monthly check-in, dose adjustments, unlimited messaging and a smart scale. GLP-1s aren't sold in every state, and Hims doesn't publish the list.
What it actually costs
Advertised$149
Actually$298/mo
Hims advertises $149. A month costs $298 because the advertised rate is the medication only, and a membership is required on top.
The gap
They advertise $149 a month. That is the medication only. A membership is required on top, so a month actually costs $298.
Hims prices by drug
Drug
Month to month
Lowest rate on a longer plan
Oral semaglutide
$149
None listed
Brand semaglutide
$199
None listed
Brand tirzepatide
$299
None listed
Brand orforglipron
$149
None listed
Medication prices. The required $149/mo membership is billed on top.
There are two bills. The membership is $39 for the first month and $149 a month after that, and you can't buy medication without it. The medication is charged separately, as its own subscription.
Medication starts at $149 a month for the Wegovy pill, the Ozempic pill and Foundayo, $199 for the Wegovy pen and Ozempic, and $299 for Zepbound in a vial or KwikPen. Mounjaro and a second Zepbound listing are $1,899 a month. Add the membership and a regular month on the Wegovy pill comes to $298, the Wegovy pen $348 and Zepbound $448. That's our addition; Hims prints each half separately.
Every medication figure is a starting price. The FAQ says “Pricing may vary by dosage,” and no page shows what the higher doses cost, so the $149 and $199 may not survive titration. Medication can be billed “monthly or upfront, based on your plan,” but no prepaid price is published.
Hims doesn't take insurance. The terms say you're choosing to pay cash outside any government or commercial plan. The medication is FSA/HSA eligible and the membership isn't.
Cancel at least two days before the next billing date. The first month's membership fee isn't refundable, and medication can't be refunded once it ships. You get a medication refund only if you cancel within 48 hours of paying for your first order. Canceling the membership also cancels the medication plan; canceling the medication alone leaves the membership billing.
Budgeting off the $149 on the pill card? That's the medication alone. The $149 membership sits on top, so a normal month is $298.
Came for the compounded semaglutide Hims used to sell? It no longer lists it on its public weight-loss pages. It's brand-name drugs only.
Want to know what the maintenance dose costs before you commit? Hims publishes starting prices only and says the price may change with the dose.
Planning to run it through insurance? Hims won't bill a plan. You pay cash and can claim the medication, not the membership, from an FSA or HSA.
Not for you if you'd like a trial month you can get back. The $39 first month isn't refundable, and shipped medication can't be returned for a refund.
The American checks
Prescriber licensed in your state
Stated
Pharmacy named
The terms name the pharmacies that fill Hims prescriptions: Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC, XeCare LLC, EHT Pharmacy LLC dba Curexa, CD Pharmacy LLC (a Utah company doing business as Red Rock Pharmacy), AnazaoHealth Corporation and Strive Specialties, Inc. Some manufacturer self-pay prescriptions go to Gifthealth, Inc. instead. The terms don't say which pharmacy fills a GLP-1 order.
What you get
FDA-approved brand: Wegovy pill and pen, Ozempic pill and pen, Zepbound vial and KwikPen, Mounjaro, plus the Foundayo (orforglipron) pill. No compounded GLP-1 appears on the public weight-loss pages.
Overseas fulfillment
Not stated
Support hours
“24/7 Care Team access” and “24/7 messaging with licensed providers” in the app; the terms give Hims' email address and 1-800-368-0038 with no phone hours.
What each check means, and what “Not stated” covers, is on how we review.
Questions people ask about Hims
How much does Hims cost a month?Month to month, oral semaglutide is $149 a month, brand orforglipron $149 and brand semaglutide $199, with one more on the price table. The required $149 membership comes on top, so the cheapest month is $298 (the first month's membership is $39).
Does Hims charge a membership fee?Yes, and it isn't optional. Hims prices the membership and the medication as two separate subscriptions. The membership covers the provider's evaluation, monthly check-ins, dose changes and messaging, and “Medication is not available without an active membership.” It's not FSA/HSA eligible; the medication is.
Does Hims sell compounded or brand-name GLP-1s?FDA-approved brand: Wegovy pill and pen, Ozempic pill and pen, Zepbound vial and KwikPen, Mounjaro, plus the Foundayo (orforglipron) pill. No compounded GLP-1 appears on the public weight-loss pages.
Which pharmacy fills Hims prescriptions?The terms name the pharmacies that fill Hims prescriptions: Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC, XeCare LLC, EHT Pharmacy LLC dba Curexa, CD Pharmacy LLC (a Utah company doing business as Red Rock Pharmacy), AnazaoHealth Corporation and Strive Specialties, Inc. Some manufacturer self-pay prescriptions go to Gifthealth, Inc. instead. The terms don't say which pharmacy fills a GLP-1 order.
Has Hims received an FDA warning letter?Yes: letter 716567, September 2025, filed as “Unlawful Sale of Unapproved and Misbranded Drugs to United States Consumers Over the Internet (Telehealth)”, linked under Sources below with the claims it quotes in the sourcing notes.
Does GLP America earn money from Hims?No. Hims pays us nothing, and its $298 month sits where that price puts it. The Direct Meds card on this page comes from a partner, which pays us a commission, and it's labeled Partner.
On the record11 sourcing notes: every price with the page it came from, and what the company doesn't publish
Sources: Hims's public site: Hims' home page, Hims' weight loss page, Hims' FAQ page, Hims' Wegovy pill page, Hims' Wegovy pill microdose page, Hims' Wegovy pen page, Hims' Zepbound vial page, Hims' Zepbound kwikpen page, Hims' Ozempic pen page, Hims' Ozempic pill page, Hims' Foundayo pill page, Hims' wl start Wegovy page, Hims' wl start Zepbound vial fmp page, Hims' fsa hsa page, Hims' about page, Hims' terms and conditions page and Hims' sitemap.xml page. No intake was started and no account was created.
The price cards on /weight-loss: “Wegovy® Pill From $149/mo†”, “Wegovy® Pill Microdosing Plan From $149/mo†”, “Wegovy® Pen From $199/mo†”, “Zepbound® Vial From $299/mo†”, “Zepbound® KwikPen® From $299/mo†”, “Foundayo™ Pill From $149/mo†”, “Ozempic® Pill From $149/mo†”, “Ozempic® From $199/mo†”, “Mounjaro® $1,899/mo†” and “Zepbound® $1,899/mo†”.
The footnote under those cards, on /weight-loss: “† Price includes medication only, if prescribed. An active Hims Weight Loss Membership is required ($39 for the first month, auto-renews at $149/month thereafter). Membership is billed separately and does not include or guarantee a prescription. Medication is not available without a membership. Membership fee is not included.”
From the weight-loss FAQ (/weight-loss/faq): “You’ll pay a $39 membership fee at checkout for your first month. After that, your membership auto-renews at $149 per month (medication cost not included).” and “If prescribed, your medication is billed separately (monthly or upfront, based on your plan), and the price of the medication depends on your prescribed treatment, if eligible.” On dose: “Dosage and titration vary based on provider discretion. Pricing may vary by dosage.”
The only all-in figure Hims prints, on /shop/wl-start-zepbound-vial-fmp: “$338/mo* (incl. $299 medication + $39 membership)”. That's the first month; from month two the membership is $149.
Cancellation and refunds, from the terms and conditions (“Last updated: August 31, 2026”): “Your Weight Loss Membership will automatically renew at the applicable billing cadence unless you cancel at least two (2) days before your next billing date.” and “Your first month Membership fee is non-refundable. … You will not be eligible for a refund for any medication after it has been shipped. You will receive a refund for your Medication Plan only if (1) for an initial order, you cancel your Medication Plan within 48 hours of submitting your payment information; or (2) for subscription renewals, you cancel your Medication Plan two (2) days before your next billing renewal date.”
Who fills and who prescribes, from the terms: “the following pharmacies: Apostrophe Pharmacy LLC, XeCare LLC, EHT Pharmacy LLC dba Curexa, CD Pharmacy LLC, a Utah limited liability company d/b/a Red Rock Pharmacy, AnazaoHealth Corporation, and Strive Specialties, Inc. and its affiliates”, with medical groups including “You Health of California P.C., P.A.” and “You Health of Texas, P.A.”; the terms also say “Hims & Hers is not a healthcare provider”. On payment: “you are explicitly choosing to obtain products and services on a cash basis outside of any federal or state healthcare program or commercial payer program”.
Why the licensure row reads Yes: the about page (/about) says Hims & Hers “connects you with a licensed medical provider in your state”. The FAQ adds “A state-licensed provider reviews the health history…” and “GLP-1s are not yet available in all 50 states.” No list of served states is published.
Why the supply row reads brand only: the FAQ says “Hims offers access to an affordable range of FDA-approved GLP-1 medications”, the sitemap's weight-loss product pages are all brand-name drugs, and none of the pages offers compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide. Not stated anywhere read: overseas fulfillment, or phone support hours.
FDA warning letter 716567, issued September 9, 2025, category “Unlawful Sale of Unapproved and Misbranded Drugs to United States Consumers Over the Internet (Telehealth)”. Addressed to “Hims & Hers Health, Inc. dba Hims, 2269 Chestnut St., # 523, San Francisco, CA 94123”, recipient email Hims' email address, naming Andrew Dudum as chief executive; FDA says it “reviewed your website content at the internet address Hims' home page in August 2025” — the domain this record is built from. It names compounded semaglutide only, not tirzepatide, and quotes two claims: “Same active ingredient as Ozempic and Wegovy” and “Clinically proven ingredients”. No action that halted the business is stated. A warning letter discloses; it does not disqualify.
The letter, re-read on fda.gov (https://www.fda.gov/inspections-compliance-enforcement-and-criminal-investigations/warning-letters/hims-hers-health-inc-dba-hims-716567-09092025), is about compounded semaglutide, which Hims no longer lists. The phrase “Same active ingredient as Ozempic®” still appears on the Wegovy pill and pen pages, now describing brand Wegovy, which does contain semaglutide.
The companies whose month of oral semaglutide is closest in price to Hims', membership included. Picked by price alone; whether a company pays us plays no part.